Geekiness

Why yes, I am a geek/nerd

Thank you for noticing.

And yes, I use both terms. As someone once distinguished them, one is a fan of their subject, one is a practitioner. I am both. There are some things I’m just a fan of and some that I am a practitioner of.

For instance I am a fan of kpop and drama, therefore, a geek on those topics. Clearly, not a practitioner of them. But ask me about EXO, Monsta X, BTS, Blackpink, and Momoland, or about Love O2O, What’s Wrong with Secretary Kim?, Strong Woman Bo Dong So, Weightlifting Fairy Kim, and She Was Pretty.

I am a fan of D&D, and have been a practitioner, thus nerd (though currently geek-mode as I’m not in a group at the moment). Binging on Critical Role these days.

I am a video game fan and practitioner, thus nerd. In fact, I’m a geek-nerd over otome games in pretty much all forms (I play on the phone, PS/PSVita, and Switch) but play non-otome as well (including on XBox).

I am also a history geek/once upon a time nerd. I was active with the SCA for a while. I want to be active again but currently my busy schedule doesn’t really allow me to do many activities outside of the house on even a semi-regular basis. I enjoy going to Ren Faire’s and spent many years going in character.

I am an Elfquest geek/nerd who does EQRP. Not as regularly as I used to unfortunately but that has more to do with availability of opportunities than myself directly. My current group has been going through a slight crisis of faith so it’s hit a skidding lull in activity. Waiting to see if it pulls out before I bail as I’m attached to the other players/characters I have RPed with regularly over the last 4+ years. I also got to meet the creators, Elfmom and Elfpop Wendy and Richard Pini this past fall, got their autographs and everything. Currently tucked away for framing and display when I get my little office-library nook set up (eventually).

Leave a comment